How to Erase Data From Mac Without Reinstalling the OS

Resetting a Mac has always been a headache: the only way to do it safely is to format the entire Mac and reinstall the OS. You had to do this every time you sold your Mac or when you faced a major software problem.

For some, that friction was enough to delay the process indefinitely, but with the macOS Monterey update, the latest Macs with Apple’s authentication chips got a new clean install feature, just like iPhones and iPads. You can reset your entire Mac by deleting all content and settings without touching the OS.

First check if your Mac is supported

This feature is only available on select Mac computers. All Macs with Apple Silicon processors (M1, M1 Pro, M1 Max) are supported. And for Intel Macs, all Macs with the Apple T2 Security Chip (2017 to 2019) are supported.

This is equipment; On the software side, you first need to upgrade to macOS Monterey before you can do this. If you haven’t already, click the Apple icon in the menu bar and go to System Preferences . Here, select the Update Software option and update to the latest version of macOS Monterey.

When you use the clean install feature, Apple will log out of your Apple ID and delete all data, including your Touch ID fingerprint. It will also disable Find Me and Activation Lock so you don’t have to worry about that.

How to do a clean install of Mac without reinstalling the OS in macOS Monterey

Now that you’ve upgraded to macOS Monterey, it’s time to find the clean install feature that’s hidden inside the menu in System Preferences. On your Mac, click the Apple icon in the menu bar and choose System Preferences .

After clicking System Preferences in the menu bar, select the Erase All Content and Settings option from the menu.

Enter your account password and the new Erase Assistant will open. Select the account you want to delete. Click the drop-down list to view more information about the cleaning process. Click the ” Continue ” button. Then enter your Apple ID password to sign out of your account.

In the pop-up window, click ” Erase All Content and Settings ” to confirm. The uninstallation process will start and you can expect your PC to restart several times in the process. Once this is done, your Mac will look for your connected keyboard and mouse. If you are using a MacBook, you have nothing to worry about. After that, your Mac will ask you to select a language.

The last and most important step is activation. To do this, simply connect to Wi-Fi during the setup process. After a second or two, you will see the message “Your Mac is activated.” Click Restart to complete the process.

Once that’s done, you’ll see the familiar “Hello” screen for setting up your Mac as if it’s new. And it’s all. From here, you can set up your Mac as new or restore a Time Machine backup. If you’re selling your Mac, you don’t need to do anything else.

More…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *