How to Know When and Where a Google Photos Photo Was Taken

Google Photos memories are one of the fun consequences of handing over our photo collections to AI; it groups your photos and videos to give you a unique perspective on a specific day, season or event in your life. The only problem with this feature in the past, if anything, has been that you have to leave your memory photos and find the image in your library to refresh your memory of simple facts like how, when and where you got it.

Memories now allow you to view information for individual photos

Google has quietly updated its Memories feature so that users can see expanded information about any single photo in memory itself. This includes things like the date and time the photo was taken; where did you take the photo; people in the photo; how large the file is; as well as information about the camera such as aperture, shutter speed, type of lens used and ISO.

All this information was always available when viewing a photo in your library, but was absent when it was part of the memory. Google may have thought people weren’t interested in this extended information, given that Memories was supposedly more about the overall slideshow experience. Fortunately, the company now sees things differently.

How to view photo information in Google Photos memory

To view this extended information while viewing a flashback, swipe up on the desired photo or click on the three dots in the lower right corner. When you do this, you will open a menu containing all of the data above, if applicable. For example, you won’t see location information if it doesn’t appear in the photo initially.

Do not worry; other options that were previously available when swiping on a photo are still here, but have been moved to this new menu; you’ll find View of the Day , Order Photo, and Hide at the top of the menu (and print to canvas when you click Order Photo ), and Memories settings at the bottom of the menu.

Currently, the ability to view photo information in Memories seems to be exclusive to Android (sorry iPhone users). It’s unclear when Google dropped the new feature, but according to Android Police, it looks like it appeared in the Photos update version 5.53.0.388724750.

More…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *