Share Your IPhone’s Photo “Memories” to Stop Reminding You of Things You’d Rather Forget

You probably have thousands of photos stored on your iPhone that document life’s biggest (and smallest) moments, from a memorable beach vacation to yesterday’s dinner. And while the Memories feature in the Photos app helps you glimpse those memories in small chunks, sometimes it offers an image you might not want to remember.

The Memories feature periodically shows you some of your “best” photos from the past – and even suggests creating short videos of them – by uploading them to the Home Screen Photo Widget. But you may not be in the mood to relive an anniversary with your (now) ex-girlfriend, or see the smiling face of a sister you are no longer in a relationship with.

In iOS 15 and iPadOS 15 (which is currently in public beta ), Apple is finally admitting that users might actually want to control who appears in the Photos widget on their home screen. So, now you can reduce the frequency of displaying a person or memory, or completely remove the person from your favorite memories.

To do this, open the Photos app on your iPhone or iPad and go to the For You tab. Here you will see the Memories and Selected Photos sections where you can fine the person or place you no longer want to see. In memory, press the menu button with three dots, and for a favorite photo, press and hold to see the menu.

To remove a photo from your favorites, select the “ Remove from favorites ‌ photos ” option. You can also select “Show less of this person ” and they will only appear in group photos. If there are multiple people in the photo, you will have the option to select specific people you want to hide. Choose whether you want to see the person less or never want to see him again, then click the Confirm button.

There is also another way to remove a person from featured photos and suggestions. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Photos app and go to the Albums tab.

Here, find the People & Places section and select the person you want to talk less about. Click the three-dot menu button in the upper-right corner and select Function (person’s name) Less .

Choose if you want to remove them from offers or just want to see them less often. Then click the ” Confirm ” button. To completely remove the person from your favorites, select Remove (the person) from people .

After a person is removed from the People section, they are no longer associated with the contact, which prevents them from showing up in flashbacks and sentences.

More…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *