How to Turn Off Chrome Notifications When Screen Sharing
Like video chatting, screen sharing is now a must-have tool for anyone working or communicating from home. Unfortunately, sharing your device’s screen can be a privacy risk or just plain awkward if you don’t take precautions against accidental sharing . To mitigate this risk, Google is testing a new feature that disables Chrome notifications when you open a Chrome window so that your browser can’t air out dirty laundry without warning.
While Google Meet already automatically disables Chrome notifications, the new Chrome feature works with screen sharing apps such as Messenger, Discord, Microsoft Teams, and Zoom on desktops and mobile devices. If you enable it, Chrome will not be able to share notification information with your audience, and your presentations will be professional and non-distracting.
Instead of permanently turning off notifications, they only turn off for the duration of the screen sharing – they are not ignored or reset. When you’re done posting, you’ll be able to see whatever you’ve missed from Gmail, Drive, and any third-party websites that send you notifications through Chrome.
Eventually, disabling notifications will be available for all Google accounts, including regular users, Google Workspace, and G Suite enterprise users, through the Chrome Stable Channel, but you can try the early version in Chrome Canary right now. Chrome Canary is used to test unfinished features and settings, so it is prone to stability bugs and crashes, but you will have to use this version if you want to disable Chrome notifications during presentations. Here’s how to try it:
- Download Chrome Canary on your device.
- Open your browser, then go to chrome: // flags / # mute-notifications-during-screen-share.
- Select “Enable” from the drop-down menu.
- Restart Chrome Canary for the changes to take effect.
When enabled, Chrome hides all incoming notification information when screen sharing. The notification still appears on the screen with the Chrome icon, but it simply says “content is hidden when sharing your screen”. Select “Close” to hide the pop-up window. There is also a Show All option if you want to allow all notification information to be displayed. Otherwise, hidden information will only be visible after you stop screen sharing.
If you don’t want to download Chrome Canary but still need a way to turn off notifications, or do n’t want to see any Chrome warnings at all, you can turn them off in Chrome settings by going to Settings> Privacy & Security> Site Settings »> Permissions> Notifications.
[ Android Police ]