Disable Facebook to Avoid Embarrassment
As Facebook finally begins to shrink , it becomes quite normal not to use it as often. If you only check it once or twice a week, you might find that your mom tagged you in an embarrassing photo or political meme five days ago and all your friends pounced on her. Here’s an idea: temporarily deactivate Facebook. It’s really easy – here are Facebook instructions – and you won’t lose your data.
Eight years ago, this was called “super logout,” and some teens and adults did it to maintain control of their profiles when they weren’t actively online. Deactivating your Facebook account does not delete it, it just hides it from everyone until you reactivate it.
If you are indeed logged out of Facebook but do not want to lose your account, you can simply deactivate it for a few weeks, for example, while looking for a job. (Because your potential employer is definitely following you on Facebook.)
There is a big drawback: when you are disconnected, you are completely invisible. Nobody can write you messages and nobody can invite you to events. If this is causing your FOMO, you’d better just edit all your privacy settings to avoid harm.