How Can I Tell If an Apple Threat Alert Is Legitimate?

Attackers are constantly looking for ways to make their attacks more convincing—often using urgent security concerns to entice victims to act quickly—so you should always be wary of messages and notifications warning you that your device or account has been hacked. However, if you receive a spyware warning from Apple via push notification, it’s likely legitimate and shouldn’t be ignored.
Apple’s threat notification system is designed to alert individuals who have fallen victim to spyware like Pegasus, which can silently infect devices and track all user activity. Since 2021, the company has been sending out these alerts several times a year. In the vast majority of cases, victims hold high-profile positions—such as politicians, journalists, and activists—that are at high risk of being targeted. This means the average user is unlikely to ever receive such a notification, so it’s important to understand how they work and be able to distinguish genuine notifications from fake ones.
Before taking action, check Apple’s threat notifications.
According toApple Support documentation , threat alerts are now sent to iPhone users via push notifications. These alerts will appear on the Lock screen and in Settings. Users will also receive an email notification to the address associated with their Apple account, sent from [ email protected ] . (Previously, Apple sent alerts via email and Messages.) Lock screen notifications will have a red alert icon and the text: “Apple Threat Alert: Apple has detected a spyware attack targeting your iPhone. You can take action now to protect your data and device.”
If you receive a push notification or email that appears to be from Apple, take it seriously and check it in your device settings and Apple account dashboard, as scammers may try to exploit this by sending fake alerts that mimic Apple messages. In your iPhone’s settings, you’ll see the “Apple Threat Notifications” menu just below your main profile. Then, sign in to account.apple.com—at the top of the page, you’ll see a banner labeled “Threat Notifications” and a link to view more information.
Legitimate threat alerts from Apple will never require you to click links, download files, install apps, or provide login credentials via email or phone. If you’re asked to do any of these things, it’s a scam. You should be especially wary of security-related alerts unless you’re a high-risk iPhone user who might be targeted by them.
However, affected users are advised to follow Apple’s security recommendations. This may include enabling Lockdown Mode , an operating system-level security setting that significantly limits iPhone capabilities to prevent malicious access. If you have received a threat notification from Apple, you can also contact Access Now, our 24/7 digital security support team, for assistance.